Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Choosing what to read next

In the last few days I've finished several books, so right now I'm only reading one book. That is very rare for me. I need to get a couple more books into my queue. I don't like to be without reading and listening material.

Any time I see a book I think I might like, I put it on my Goodreads "to read" shelf, so I don't forget about it. I read a lot of book blogs, so I get ideas from other bloggers' reviews. I also get emails from Goodreads each month with new titles by authors I've read before. And of course I get recommendations from friends and family as well. Or sometimes, when I have some free time near a bookstore, I'll just go and browse for ideas.

The greatest thing about having this Goodreads list is that when I need something new to read, I pull up my list and search the library catalog to see whether it's available in the format I currently need. For example, I finished the CD version of The Last Anniversary Saturday morning, so last night I searched the library website for books from my Goodreads list that appealed to me at the moment. The fifth one I searched happened to be available at our library, so I'll be picking that up this afternoon. The fourth book was available from another library, so I reserved that for later this month, so I won't be without a CD audio book again. I do the same thing when I finish an Overdrive e-book or e-audio book (which I've finally started using) or when I finish an actual paper book.

During a month I also read my YA Book Club's pick, so that's one less book I need to find on my own. And of course for the next three months, I'll also be pulling books from my shelf for my summer reading challenge.

When I have a stack of books waiting to be read, I pick up whichever strikes me when I'm ready to start a new book. So I might try to switch from YA to adult if I just finished a YA book. Or I might just pick the cover I like the best. Often I have to read the book that's due back to the library the soonest or the one that isn't renewable, so I make sure I finish it in time. I like to reserve new releases right before they're published, so I often have non-renewable books. 

How do you decide what to read next?

6 comments:

  1. My Goodreads to-read list is a lifesaver! I try to read books from that list all summer, when I can actually get to the library and have time to read books by their due dates. The rest of the year, I try to pick books off my own shelves, because I own way, way too many books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Are you a student or a teacher? What about summer provides you with more time to read?

      Delete
    2. I'm a teacher. So while I do plenty during the summer to prepare for next school year, I definitely have more time in each day to devote to reading!

      Delete
  2. I have such a hard time figuring out what to read next. I always have at least 20 possible books to read, but I'm such a mood reader that it *has* to be what I'm feeling (whether it's for a specific genre or world setting). Otherwise, I'll end up picking a book I'm not really excited for (at least at that moment), and I might lose interest when I wouldn't at another time.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, that is a struggle. I sometimes put books on hold when they're not matching my mood. I hate to judge a book incorrectly because I was not in the right mindset when I tried reading it.

      Delete