Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Kid Lit: Here Comes the Tooth Fairy Cat


Here Comes the Tooth Fairy Cat by Deborah Underwood

Goodreads Summary:
When Cat loses a tooth, the Tooth Fairy delivers a wholly unwanted sidekick: a mouse. Together, Cat and Mouse are tasked with running a few Tooth Fairy-related errands—a challenge, since Mouse is just as competitive and mischievous and hilariously self-involved as Cat. The stakes rise and so does the deadpan humor, culminating in a satisfying surprise that will leave readers eager for yet another delightfully devious Cat adventure.


An homage to classic comic strips from the author of The Quiet Book and The Loud Book, this New York Times bestselling series is perfect for fans of Pete the Cat, Bad Kitty, and Mo Willems's Pigeon books.

Background:
I read about this book on another blog. I wish I could remember which one! And because Christopher is close to losing his first tooth, I thought it would be a perfect read for us.

My Thoughts:
My son (5.5) and I both loved this book! Cat is sneaky. He tries to trick the tooth fairy, but instead he gets a surprise. He and a mouse have to team up to collect teeth from some other animals. With very few words and wonderful illustrations, Deborah Underwood and Claudia Rueba have created a funny story that will keep you giggling and guessing until the end.

We had this book out from the library for several weeks, and we read it over and over again. It is definitely a good way to increase the excitement for any child anticipating losing a tooth.

My Rating: 5 Stars

4 comments:

  1. Love this! We still have time before we have to deal with losing teeth but will keep this one in mind when we get there.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Cool. I reserved the Christmas Cat book from the library for December. We'll have to check out the Valentine's Day one too in February. :)

      Delete
  2. oh wow her books look so cute, i just googled it on amazon, and wow, will be buying some for my little man

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. We own The Quiet Book. I really like it. My son, not so much. Interstellar Cinderella is great, especially if you're a fan of The Lunar Chronicles because it's kind like Cinder for kids since Cinderella is a mechanic for space ships. I need to read some of her other books. I'm starting with Christmas Cat next month.

      Delete