Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Book Review: No One Knows

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


No One Knows by J.T. Ellison

Goodreads Summary:
In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband’s Secret, New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.

My Review:
It took me several months to get through this book - partly because it wasn't a library book, so I didn't have a strict deadline, but also because it just didn't really hold my interest. The plot develops very slowly, and the story jumps around a lot through a 5 year timeline. Usually I like that type of writing style, but it didn't work as well for me with this book.

Aubrey's husband Josh went missing on the night of his best friend's bachelor party 5 years ago. At the start of the book, the state has just declared Josh dead, so the insurance payout is coming soon. Aubrey's mother-in-law, Daisy has always hated her, and she wants the money for herself, even though she doesn't really need it. Thus begins the crazy ride that is this mystery. What happened to Josh? Aubrey is convinced he isn't dead. She just has a feeling, but no one believes her.

I kept reading because I really wanted to know what happened to Josh. Other than though, I wasn't really very invested in this novel. I just wasn't attached to Aubrey. I'm not sure why, but I just didn't really feel anything for her. There are some interesting twists and turns, so if you like this type of book, you may enjoy it more than I did. The details were very well sewn together; things just didn't move quickly enough for me.

My Rating: 3 Stars
Understand my ratings.

This book is a She Reads Book Club – Books of Winter selection. Read reviews from other members of their blogger network on their website.


On the blog last year...

Cleansing my TBR list

4 comments:

  1. Thanks for reviewing this one! It's been on my radar since Modern Mrs. Darcy included it in her reading guide. And I know what you mean about taking your time with a book that isn't a library book! I have two or three books that I own that I've decided I just need to make the time for...hopefully that happens this summer.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was hard to talk about this book without giving things away. I didn't like it as much as I wanted to. :(

      Delete
  2. Oh....I know what you mean about reading a book without a deadline. I'm stuck on a book right now and the thing is, I need to get to the end. I don't like giving up on books and it's a review copy too. It's dreadfully long and I wish there wasn't so much detail.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ugh. Heavily detailed books can be killer. Good luck!

      Delete