Monday, January 16, 2017

Book Review: Wolfie and Fly (Chapter Book)

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 



Wolfie & Fly by Cary Fagan

Published on January 10, 2017.


Goodreads Summary:
A classic story of imagination, friendship, adventure and speeding through the ocean in a cardboard box. For fans of Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody or Nate the Great

Wolfie and Fly is an early chapter book at its simplest and best. Our heroine, Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) does everything by herself. Friends just get in the way, and she only has time for facts and reading. But friendship finds her in the form of Livingston Flott (Fly), the slightly weird and wordy boy from next door. Before she knows it, Wolfie is motoring through deep water with Fly as her second in command in a submarine made from a cardboard box. 

Out on a solo swim to retrieve a baseball vital to the mission, Wolfie is finally by herself again, but for the first time, she finds it a little lonely. Maybe there is something to this friend thing...

My Thoughts:
This book is a really cute chapter book, the first in a new series. Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) is happy without friends. She loves being alone and reading about life in the ocean. She doesn't know how to play pretend. She's very logical. When she's forced to play with Livingston Flott (Fly) from next door, they create an excellent submarine out of a refrigerator box. Fly teaches Wolfie how to play pretend, but they're in for a surprise when they take the submarine on its maiden voyage. Somehow they're in the real ocean!

With short chapters and great adventure, this book is a perfect read for children ages 5-8 who enjoy contemporary or fantasy stories - it's kind of a mix of both. It's a great story for boys and girls. Wolfie is a little sassy to her parents in the beginning of the book, but otherwise it's just pure fun. A great friendship story and a great beginning to a fun new series.

My Rating: 4 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment